A regularly scheduled board meeting of DYHA took place on Monday, May 11, 2015 at 7:45pm at Stamford Twin Rinks.  Present board members were Art Flynn, Buzz Olsen, Pat Mullin, Dave Kreppein, Jeff Eccleston, Lisa McCarthy,  Keith Cataldo, Tom Raymond, Mike Kadish, Dawn Bryson, Mary Jo Dyer, David Hill, John Massey and Gigi Williams. 


President’s Remarks

Art Flynn opened the meeting and announced that the board would next meet in July for the annual Off-Site discussions.

The Biggs Award recipient has been selected by the board.  The 2015 award will be presented to DYHA Senior Amanda Sload.  The first female recipient in the history of the award, she will attend Dartmouth College in the fall.  Her scholarship, payable to Dartmouth, will be presented on May 21, 2015.



The 2015 Founders Award winners were announced as Cameron Raker (Bantam A1) and Jennie Piotrzkowski (U14A).

The 2015-2016 Slate for the DYHA Board will be submitted to the voting members no later than June 15, 2015, in compliance with the association by-laws.


Fundraising and Sponsorship

Lisa McCarthy provided an update on Sponsor acknowledgments for the 2014-2015 season.  All plaques have been distributed and a notice will run May 14, 2015 in the Darien Times encouraging support of, and thanking, sponsors.



Open Board positions for the upcoming 2015-2016 season will be posted on the association website.



John Massey presented the draft Fall Tryout schedule to the board.  Tryouts for Mites, Squirts, Pee Wees and U10 Girls are tentatively scheduled to commence on Saturday, August 29 and will conclude on Sunday, September 6th

A notice announcing this tentative schedule will be posted to the website.  Full details will be posted as soon as confirmed.

Practices for teams selected during Spring tryouts will also commence August 29, 2015.

John Massey, Art Flynn and Mike Kadish updated the board on Ice Contracts.



Mary Jo Dyer presented the Year-to-Date P&L statement as at May 10, 2015.  The Association’s financial year end is May 31, 2015.  A draft Budget for the 2015-2016 season was also presented to the board, along with the association’s latest tax return. 

A discussion followed and questions were asked and answered. 



The aggregated results and individual responses to the anonymous Travel Surveys sent out at the conclusion of the 2014-2015 season were presented to the board by Jeff Eccleston.  201 player families responded.

The response rate, overall satisfaction levels and emerging trends in comments and suggestions were discussed and will be subject to further review and discussion.

Travel Commitment letters were discussed.



Dawn Bryson provided an overview and update of 2015-2016 registration at all levels of House and Travel. 

With the migration of U10/U12S girls out of house to full CT Ice Cat travel teams, 6 Squirt House teams will be offered in the 2015-2016 season.


CHC Representative

All board members were reminded to register as Volunteers with USA Hockey.

A CT Senate Bill which would have set a minimum age in order to become an ice hockey official was withdrawn, allowing youth members to continue to referee for DYHA. 


Other business

Potential dates for the July 2015 Off-Site meeting were discussed.  Dates will be circulated for approval. 


With no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 11.10pm.


Gigi Williams